Skip To Content

Police Department History


The Pittsburg Police Department has a rich history and has played a major role in the city’s progress. The brave and loyal men and women of the Police Department have suffered, bled, and even died for this community. This history is dedicated to all who have served honorably in the uniform of the Pittsburg Kansas Police Department throughout the years, each generation giving their best to their nation, state, and city.

Download and read a complete history of the Police Department.

Chief of Police

The following is a list of Chiefs of Police for the City of Pittsburg, Kansas, giving the names and the years they served.

Fred B. Sutherland 1880-1881
Alfred Shirley 1881-1882
Michael Dryden 1882-1883
W.A. Chapman 1883-1884
Edgar Jennings 1884-1884
John McNally 1884-1885
Thos. Bilderbeck 1885-1886
J.M. Adams 1886-1887
Alec C. Campbell 1887-1888
Dave Eyestone 1888-1890
J.J. Clayton 1890-1891
I.N. Skinner 1891-1893
J.J. Leamaster 1893-1894
W.A. Mitchell 1894-1895
John Tucker 1895-1897
W.H. Holmes 1897-1898
C.G. Webb 1898-1899
Tom Howe 1899-1901
R.V. Higgins 1901-1903
C.G. Lance 1903-1905
R.V. Higgins 1905-1906
Geo. Richardson 1906-1907
Walter Lance 1907-1909
Ike Skinner 1909-1911
John Tucker 1911-1912
Chas. Ritter 1912-1913
Roll Rakestraw 1913-1917
E.U. Jenks 1917-1917
A.R. Armstrong 1917-1941
Thomas M. Stowers 1941-1949
Ralph Beard 1949-1975
Jack L. Spencer 1975-1978
Ralph W. Shanks, Jr. 1978-1995
Michael O. Hall 1995-2004
Melinda D. Hulvey 2004-2018
Brent D. Narges 2018-Present

Contact Information

Police Dispatch
201 N. Pine St.
Pittsburg, KS 66762
(620) 231-1700

Hours of Operation:

All Day Every Day

Dept. Lobby Hours: 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

During off hours pick up the telephone receiver in the entryway to be connected with dispatch.