Skip To Content

Planning Commission/Board of Zoning Appeals

Board Responsibilities

Each serving a three-year term, this board has seven members, all of which are required to be residents of the City of Pittsburg. This board reviews requests for variances in zoning ordinances, such as building setback requirements, building sizes, etc. Members of this commission review and adopt (as well as update) the Comprehensive Plan for the City of Pittsburg, establish zoning districts and allowable uses, review zoning regulations within the city and review requests for special permits or conditional uses within certain zoning districts in the city. Site plans for planned areas are also reviewed when this commission meets. Seven members must reside within the city limits, while two members may live outside the city limits, but within a 3-mile radius of the city.

Board of Zoning Appeals – Planning Commission Application

Meeting Time & Location

5:30 pm

Fourth Monday of each month

Beard-Shanks Law Enforcement Center
201 N. Pine St.
Pittsburg, KS

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are published once approved by the board.


Download Latest Agenda View All Agendas


View Most Recent Minutes   View All Minutes

*To obtain agendas and/or minutes for meetings that took place in 2015 or earlier, please contact the City Clerk.


Membership Period: January 1, 2019, to December 31, 2021

  • Mike Creel, second term
  • Laura Klusener, first term
  • Leah Posterick, first term

Membership Period: January 1, 2020, to December 31, 2022

  • Derek Heikes, first term
  • Mike Wilber, second term

Membership Period: January 1, 2021, to December 31, 2023

  • Martin Dickinson, first term
  • Kyle Michael, second term

Contact Information

Dexter Neisler
Building Official
(620) 230-5517

Director of CDH
Director of Community Development & Housing
Phone: 620-231-4170