Election Information

City Commission Elections

Elections for the City Commission are held every other year. In each election, three seats are vacant on the City Commission. The two candidates acquiring the most votes receive four-year terms, while the candidate obtaining the third most votes secures a two-year term.

The City Commission annually elects the Mayor and President of the Board. The Mayor, who has the same authority as the other commissioners, presides over the commission meetings, provides the official signature on documents, represents the City at official and ceremonial functions and presents the annual State of the City address. In the absence of the Mayor, the president of the board fulfills the duties of the Mayor.

Register to Vote!


Important Dates for the 2019 Election:

August 14, 2019 – Voters may apply to the Crawford County Clerk’s Office for an Advance Ballot.

October 15, 2019 – Last day to register to vote.  Books for registration will close at 4:30 pm and re-open on November 6, 2019.

October 16, 2019 – Advance ballots begin to be mailed from the Crawford County Clerk’s Office.  Early voting becomes available from 8:00 am to 4:30 pm Monday through Friday (excluding holidays) in the Crawford County Clerk’s Office.

November 4, 2019 – Early voting in the Crawford County Clerk’s Office ends at noon.

November 5, 2019 – Election Day!  Polls are open from 7:00 am until 7:00 pm.

Find Polling Places


For questions, contact the Crawford County Clerk’s Office:

Crawford County Clerk Don Pyle
(620) 724-6115
Crawford County Courthouse
111 E. Forest, Girard, KS.