Skip To Content

Pittsburg welcomes new and returning commissioners

City Press Releases

December 13, 2021

PITTSBURG, KS – The Pittsburg City Commission is welcoming two new commissioners and one returning commissioner to its five-member governing body. The three recently-elected officials will be seated on December 14 at 5:30 pm at the Pittsburg law enforcement center during the regularly-scheduled bi-monthly commission meeting.

Dawn McNay

Dawn McNay is returning to the commission for another four-year term. Dawn McNay grew up in Omaha, Nebraska and moved to Pittsburg with her family in 1993. She currently holds the position of Community Health Center of Southeast Kansas director of development and previously worked for Via Christi Hospital for 18 years. She was formerly elected to the Pittsburg USD 250 School Board and has volunteered for multiple community organizations, including the Family Resource Center, PSU Foundation Board, Pittsburg Public Library Foundation Board, and Mount Carmel Foundation Board. McNay was first elected to the city commission in November of 2017 and served as Mayor from 2019 – 2020.

Stu Hite
Stu Hite

Stu Hite is new to the commission and was elected to a four-year term. Hite has lived in Crawford County his entire life and has called Pittsburg home for nine years. He worked for 30 years as a Crawford County Sheriff’s Officer before accepting a position as Pittsburg State University Chief of Police in 2018. He is a graduate of Pittsburg State University, was selected for the FBI National Academy Session #240 in Quantico, Virginia, and is a life member of the Kansas Peace Officers Association. He currently serves on the Kansas Attorney General’s Crime Victims Compensation Board. Hite previously served as president of the Big Brothers Big Sisters board, president of the Pittsburg Sunrise Rotary, president of the St. Mary’s Colgan School Advisory Council, and board member for the Pittsburg Family YMCA.

Dr. Ron Seglie
Dr. Ron Seglie

Dr. Ron Seglie is new to the commission and was elected to serve a two-year term. Born and raised in Franklin, Kansas, Dr. Seglie has lived in Pittsburg for many years and worked as a family doctor in Pittsburg since 1979. He earned his undergraduate degree from Pittsburg State University in 1965, receiving a Bachelor of Arts in Chemistry before earning a Doctor of Medicine in 1969 from the University of Kansas School of Medicine in Kansas City, Kansas. He obtained his Family Practice residency at the Silas B. Hays Army Hospital in Fort Ord, California and operated as Chief Resident from 1974 to 1976. Dr. Seglie has 34 years of combined active and reserve duty service with the U.S. Army Reserves. He is an active member of several charitable organizations, including the Sigma Chi Fraternity at Pittsburg State University, BMO Harris Bank Board of Directors, Pritchett Trust Committee, and Scubitz Trust Committee.

During the December 14 meeting, the city commission will recognize outgoing commissioners Larry Fields and Patrick O’Bryan, swear in new and returning commissioners, and elect a new mayor and president of the board from members of the governing body.


The mission of the City of Pittsburg is to provide exceptional services, facilities and activities with integrity, professionalism, excellent customer service and a commitment to economic vitality.